I’m Moving, Finally!

Hello!

So sadly I do not have anything new that I’ve sewn. Between school, work, and getting organized for moving I just haven’t had the time. Unfortunately, I won’t have the time until we get there since I have to sell my desk, pack everything up, and still have school stuff to do. So I’m letting you all know now that my next couple posts (maybe even 3 if I can’t find the time to do something) will be quite boring…

So today I just wanted to talk about how nice it was to get things packed to move!

Firstly, I am really surprised how well I was able to get all of my fabric into a single bin and my spare carrying case. This is partly because I really took a look at what fabric I wanted, what scraps I had, WIPs and the like as well, and just started tossing things into three piles: keep, donate, trash. Since we are doing our best to fit everything into our Santa Fe and not renting extra trailers or trucks, this has really forced me to evaluate exactly what I want out of my sewing future and what I want to take with me. I was able to be more objective and tossed out a lot more than I thought I would. A lot is getting donated, the majority really, but still it was more than I thought I’d be ok with.

IMG_20151007_164454

The chaos! My pile to the left is all of my sewing supplies minus the machine. I actually just sold the dress form yesterday to a really sweet girl who cosplays!

IMG_20151007_164515

That is my everything right there…my books and magazines have all gone into the other book box. That weird white thing on the top shelf? Disposable kitty boxes! This way moving with the cat is a little easier. I thought that was just too cool.

Because something I think a lot of us can relate with is that we don’t want to let go. Remember that green skirt from hell? Yeah, I ripped the zipper out, just decided to toss it. I mean, why not? I wasn’t wanting to finish it, there were issues with the fit, it was pointless to keep it. I had kept it longer than I needed though, because we don’t enjoy seeing projects go to the bin. Why should we? Sewing is an expensive hobby, takes up a lot of our time, and no one wants to feel like they’ve failed or wasted their time/money. I know I’m speaking to the choir about this though.

So when it comes to moving with sewing stuff and fabric…it’s fairly easy for me! I have more fabric than anything, and keeping my patterns safe will probably be harder than I’ll like. But otherwise I have everything packed and it doesn’t take up a lot of space. That’s really good because we have to fit all of our stuff into one SUV as well as a cat and a dog…well. That’ll be fun. The dog I’m not worried about but the cat I’m sure will howl the whole time. That’s probably why we will get tranquilizers before we go. We used them for our last trip and it helped a lot. He just slept the whole time and woke up by the time we got there. We’ll have to do it twice on this trip because the distance is twice as much as the first trip but that’ll be ok I think. Overall I’m not too concerned.

20140524_101852

The animals in question.

DSCF1820

This one will be fine I’m sure. He’s such a good puppy.

IMG_20130806_125147

When Chimcerii was a kitten car rides weren’t such an issue.

IMG_20130820_101315

He actually seemed to like them, even. Now he hates them. Poor guy. And no I was not driving while taking these pictures, safety first everyone!

I am sad about selling my stuff though, like my desk and dress form. I think I’ll take this opportunity to upgrade then and buy a form that actually works for me! Any recommendations? I’ve heard about various foam and cloth ones that kind of mold to your shape and that sounds interesting. Let me know what ya’ll think!

Sorry this post was a little off kilter, next week I’m going to talk about sewing tools I love and which ones I want to add to my arsenal.

While you’re here, please subscribe if you’d like weekly posts sent to your inbox, and chat with me in the comments about your moving experiences! You can also find me on Instagram @costumesandfashionbybethany to see more updates on my sewing and moving.

Until next time,

—Bethany Out

3 thoughts on “I’m Moving, Finally!

Leave a Reply

