Inspiring Blogger Award and a New Dress!

Blogger Inspo

Hello everyone! What a great week it’s been, mostly. First up, I want to talk about the Inspiring Blogger Award! This is one of those organic awards that is constantly going. It never ends because the idea is that whoever you nominate is already a ‘winner’ and they pass the award onto someone else. It’s a great way to connect bloggers and show some love. Well, I’m thrilled to say I was nominated! My friend Jenny from JennyStitched nominated me and I have to say, that was very sweet of her. If I could I’d nominate her right back because I really like her blog. Down to earth, Jenny is a person that has great taste and is very easy to relate to. Her Darwin pillow is pretty smashing and I’m glad she’s gotten back into sewing and lets us in on her journey.

For the rules of the award, there are 5 steps:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and add a link to their blog.
  2. Display the award logo in a blog entry.
  3. List the award guidelines so your nominees will know what to do.
  4. State 7 hidden facts about yourself OR 3 things that inspire you.
  5. Nominate other blogger friends for the award.

Since I already do an ‘inspired by’ series, I’ll share 7 facts!

1. I’m a sucker for novelty prints. Jenny mentioned I have a great eye for fabric, but what you all don’t know is my daily struggle to make things match! Buying coordinating solids is a recent endeavor for me and until not too long ago, nothing I had would match when stitched up. Ah, well, it was still worth the buy.

2.  I exercise, a lot. I mostly run or walk when it’s too hot (very common here) and take my dog with me when I go. There are 2 grocery stores right near me, so I usually walk to them instead of drive. I also do ‘gym’ stuff like push ups and whatnot, but at home. I don’t weight lift, though some muscle definition wouldn’t be terrible…On average, I walk/run about 5 miles a day.

3. My dream home is in Germany. Eventually I will live there and I will enjoy it immensely. I’ve already been so I already know some of the pros and cons of living there. I’d love to live in other places in Europe as well, but Germany has my heart.

4. If I could, I’d forever be in school. I love learning new things, I really do. Right now I’m finishing my English degree and if I can afford to or have the chance to, I’d like to get a degree in fashion design and another in astronomy. My interests vary wildly and I want to one day just be permanently enrolled at a college for free forever. Some dream, huh?

5.  I love the desert. I know it’s hot, and dirty (literally, dirt everywhere) but I love it. Growing up where the mountains are just outside my door and there are creatures running amok has really given me a great way to appreciate nature in all forms. Yes, I also love green trees and moisture, but the desert is really special and I will miss living in it.

6. My dream job would include research and writing. I do really enjoy writing a lot, and I love learning as you now know. If I could be a journalist or author I’d really like that. However, I don’t think I’m really talented enough to do so. I also lack the discipline to be an author. I really rely on inspiration/motivation to write and unfortunately it takes more drive than that.

7. I’m addicted to diet soda. I actually prefer the taste compared to regular soda but the lack of calories is a bit nice. I’ve been drinking diet soda wayyyy too much lately, so I’ve really cut back. I have one bottle a day, and the rest of the day is tea or water. I also really love coffee. And pastries. And food in general. I love snacks. Man, if I didn’t also exercise a lot, I’d be really fat.

For my nominees…I have quite a few! There are so many great bloggers out there who I love getting to know through their posts. Here we go in no particular order:

fuzzy cactus yarn

Catie from Fuzzy Cactus Yarn! I actually know her from school and we’ve managed to still know what’s going on through facebook and recently by blogging! She is a stay at home mom, so her blog covers her kids, her crafts, and her time spent as a military wife. She gives a great perspective based on her experiences on life in general, so check her out!

Samantha

Samantha from Strings Attached: Samantha has great talent…and is still in high school! She just made a super cute galaxy print dress that I adore, and she drafted the peter pan collar herself. She’s got a great skill she’s building and her posts are always full of cuteness and cats!

sewrific

Cynthia from It’s Sewrific: Cynthia has just gotten started with her blog but she’s already shown she’s a natural at sewing and is someone to look out for as an up-and-coming seamstress. She’s got a great sense of style and she’s very personable.

h crafts

H. From H’s Handcrafts: She posts a lot of great projects she works on and includes sewing, painting, knitting, crocheting, and much more. She’s really talented and it’s fun to see what she’s been working on.

Lori

Lori from Frivolous at Last: Lori just posted a really adorable dress she made, a McCall’s pattern, made of amazing Canard (French for duck, I learned something today) fabric.

Again, these awards that we give each other are really fun. I’ve found a lot of great blogs this way that I never would have found otherwise so it’s a lot of fun. I also like that we get to share about ourselves and get to know each other. That’s why we do this, right? The interaction with other bloggers is the best part in all of this.

Now, I also have a new dress to share! It’s a really simple summer dress and when I use the term ‘simple’ I’m not lying. All there is to is is 1 half circle skirt, and two wide rectangles to hold my boobs in place. Thankfully I don’t have a lot going on in that department, so I’m not too concerned about anything getting indecent. I sewed the two rectangles close to each other, had the edges hemmed off nicely, and added a zipper to the skirt. After hemming, viola! A new dress. I really like this dress because it’s so casual, and simple. I can’t stress enough how much I like simple dresses. The print makes up for lack of pattern design as well and you’d never guess but the fabric is actually from a flat sheet! I used the fitted sheets out of sets but this flat sheet would never have been used otherwise. I decided it would make the perfect dress (and more, I still have fabric left) and I was right! I may even do another version of this but with a waist tie instead of halter neck style. We’ll see how that goes.

DSCF2137 DSCF2138 DSCF2139 DSCF2140 DSCF2141

In other news, I may also be going back to school this semester. It wasn’t the plan but I’m getting sick of not finishing. So I’ll have 3 classes, hopefully, and this will bring me one semester closer to graduating. This means I may not get to sew as much as I’d like, but never fear, I’ll still post stuff. It might be more along the lines of inspiration, techniques, patterns I want, etc, but I’ll post things. When I do get fabric or get to sew, I’ll post it. So thank you for sticking with me even when things get dull!

That’s all I have to share for this week, hopefully next week I’ll have another garment to post about.

Until then,

—Bethany Out

5 thoughts on “Inspiring Blogger Award and a New Dress!

  1. Thank you for the nom! And I seriously drool over all your dresses, I think our aesthetic is similar 😉 And yay for finishing school! That is still something I have yet to do, best of luck for the semester!!

    Like

    • Thanks! Yeah school is tough. They want you to only go full time really, but expect you to afford it. Hardly. On top of that if you take out loans, there isn’t any guarantee you’ll get a good enough job to pay them off. It’s a very risky venture these days.

      Like

Leave a Reply

